invisible hit counter
Qualifying week over for candidates
Four more candidates qualified for Brunswick City Commission seats in the Nov. 5 general election by the close of the official qualifying period Friday.

Zack Lyde, an insurance agent who resides on Bartow Street, is the fourth candidate to qualify for mayor. He will face Cornell Harvey, Valerie Scriven and Starling Sutton, all of whom qualified earlier in the week.

Two more candidates qualified for the North Ward Commission seat Harvey will vacate at the end of the year: Vincent Williams, a pastor who lives on Wildwood Drive, and Neil Foster, owner of NR Foster Properties and a resident of St. Catherines Island Lane. They will face Gary Cook.

Robert Emmitt Nolan Jr., a Glynn County property appraiser who resides on Stonewall Street, qualified for the South Ward Commission seat. Nolan was recently appointed to the seat by Gov. Nathan Deal, who suspended South Ward Commissioner James Brooks following his indictment on bribery charges.

Brooks, who is still receiving his commission salary, qualified for re-election and will be eligible for serve again if found innocent when his case goes to trial in Camden County in September.

Also seeking the South Ward seat is Felicia Morris Harris.

In Camden County, a flurry of last-minute candidates qualified to run for city offices before the 4:30 p.m. deadline.

In Kingsland, Post 1 incumbent Don Mounsey will face three challengers -- Steve Davis, Scott Alexander and Daniel Minckler. Post 2 incumbent Alex Blount qualified but will not face any opposition in his bid for another term in office.

In St. Marys, only one of four incumbents will seek another term in the office he currently is holding. Mayor Bill Deloughy and Councilman Keith Post did not file the paperwork to seek another term in office, and Councilman John Morrissey has aleady filed the paperwork to run for mayor.

Morrissey will face former council member Larry Johnson for the mayor's position.

Two candidates, Sam Colville and Tommy Weaver qualified for Morrissey's Post 5 seat Friday.

David Reilly will seek the Post 4, where he will face Mike Weaver, who qualified to run for the seat Wednesday, and Eddie Lee Rhone, who qualified late Friday. Mike Weaver and Tommy Weaver are brothers, city officials said.

Incumbent Sidney Howell and former St. Marys City Council member Linda Williams both filed the paperwork earlier this week to run for the Post 6 seat.

Qualifying ended Wednesday in Woodbine. Incumbents Louise Mitchell and C.C. Higgenbotham will not face challengers in the November elections after they were the only candidates to file the paperwork to run for the city's two at-large council seats.

View Full Site