House of Representatives


The Brunswick News

Republican residents in Glynn County will vote in only one state legislative district primary - House 167, which was occupied by Rep. Roger Lane until he was appointed a Superior Court judge by Gov. Nathan Deal.

But voters picking up a Democratic primary ballot on July 31 will have a choice of two U.S. Congressional candidates - Nathan C. Russo of St. Simons Island and Lesli Messinger of Savannah.

Vying to replace Lane are two Republicans - Brunswick architect John Tuten and former Glynn County Commissioner and state Sen. Jeff Chapman.

The winner of the primary will begin a two-year term of office in January since there is no Democratic opposition for the seat in November.

State Rep. Jason Spencer, the Republican whose House District 180 used to include a small portion of Glynn County, will face fellow Republican and Woodbine resident Adam Jacobson. With redistricting, the seat no longer includes any voting precinct in the Golden Isles.

The winner of the July House 180 race will start the two-year term in January. There is no Democratic challenger for the House seat.

Two other members of Glynn County's state delegation - Rep. Alex Atwood, R-St. Simons Island (House 179), and Sen. William Ligon, R-Waverly (Senate 3) - face no opposition in the Republican primary or in the Nov. 6 general election. Their new two-year terms of office will begin in January.

The winner of the Democratic Primary for U.S. Congress will face the Republican incumbent, U.S. Rep. Jack Kingston, on Nov. 6 for Georgia's 1st Congressional District.

Kingston has no Republican opposition and will automatically advance to the Nov. 6 general election ballot.

Messinger did not respond to The News' questionnaire.