Local News


No candidates yet for North Ward

The Brunswick News

The North Ward post on the Brunswick City Commission is still without a candidate in the Nov. 5 municipal election after a third day of qualifying for the fall ballot.

The number of candidates running for mayor and the number seeking the South Ward commission seat remained at two each, but no one had qualified for the North Ward.

North Ward Commissioner Cornell Harvey is giving up the seat at the end of the year for his run for mayor. His only challenger so far is Valerie Scriven, who resides on Wilson Avenue.

Mayor Bryan Thompson cannot seek a third consecutive four-year term because of a term limit in the city charter.

Two candidates also are in the race for the South Ward Commission seat, including the incumbent, James Brooks, who is suspended following his indictment on bribery charges in Camden County. Brooks, who has said he is innocent of all charges, will be tried in September.

Qualifying to run against him is Felicia Morris Harris, who resides on Bartow Street.

All commission seats are nonpartisan. North and South wards are separated by L Street. The qualifying fee for mayor is $416.22 and $302.54 for North or South ward posts.

Qualifying for municipal offices in Brunswick, in Glynn County, and Kingsland and St. Marys, in Camden County, ends at 4:30 p.m. Friday.

In Kingsland, Post 1 incumbent Don Mounsey and Post 2 incumbent Alex Blount have filed to seek re-election. Daniel Minkler has also filed paperwork and paid the $180.75 qualifying fee to run for the Post 1 seat held by Mounsey.

In St. Marys, Post 5 councilman John Morrissey has paid the $342 fee to run for the mayor's position held by Bill Deloughy, who has announced his intention not to seek another term. Former city council member Larry Johnson has also qualified to run for mayor.

Firefighter Mike Weaver has filed paperwork and paid the $270 fee to run for the Post 4 seat held by Keith Post, who has not indicated whether he will seek another term in office.

Nobody has qualified for the Post 5 seat held by Morrissey or the Post 6 seat held by Sidney Howell, who has not announced his plans.

Two incumbent Woodbine City Council members who qualified before Wednesday's 4:30 p.m. deadline to seek another term in office won't have to endure long re-election campaigns. No candidates filed to challenge Louise Mitchell and C.C. Higgenbotham for their at-large seats.